State type
Administrative Division

National Level

Gobierno Central

Intermediate/Regional Level

Regiones 4

Departamentos 10

Local Level

Distrito 42

Comuna 140

National Urban Policy

  • This Strategic Plan for the Development of Haiti proposes development orientations and strategies and details the content of the Major Projects for the Recovery and Development of Haiti outlined in the Action Plan for the Recovery and Development of Haiti to make it an emerging country in 2030.

    (pg. 3)

    National urban policy type:
    Partial - National Development Policy
    Policy temporality:
  • According to Haiti’s Constitution, politico-administrative division should be divided among its three main local and regional authorities (collectivités territoriales), once the decentralisation is implemented these will be composed of the Departments (départements), Municipalities (communes), and Community wards (sections communales). However, there are two additional levels, arrondissement and quartier, which still exist and in some cases are more functional than the new administrative divisions. There are have been several attempts at creating and implementing plans with different geographic and thematic scopes, most created with financial and technical assistance from international donors, but they have neither been endorsed nor institutionalised in the bylaws and regulations. In practice, these have not functioned as proper frameworks for spatial and social development but rather only as inspiration for a few interventions.